Academic Calendar for 2016-2017

Dates in this calendar are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in admission and registration instructions take precedence over those listed below.

Summer 2016
Monday, May 16 Beginning of Session I
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day – classes DO NOT meet
Monday, June 13 Beginning of Session II
Monday, June 27 Beginning of Session III – 6 Weeks
Monday, July 4 Independence Day – classes DO NOT meet
Monday, July 11 Beginning of Session III – 4 Weeks
Friday, Aug. 5 Close of Summer session
Tuesday, Aug. 9 Final Grades due by 12:00pm

Fall Semester 2016
Thurs-Sat, Aug. 18-20 WWAMI orientation
Monday, Aug. 22 Classes begin
WWAMI Classes begin
Cooperatively Offered Courses at Washington State University begin
Monday, Aug. 29 Last day to add course or change course section on-line
Friday, Sept. 2 Last day to drop a course without having a grade of ‘W’ recorded
Last day to add a course with instructor permission
Monday, Sept. 5 Labor Day – classes DO NOT meet
Monday, Oct. 17 Beginning of Late 8 week part of term
Friday, Oct. 28 Last day to withdraw from a course or from the university
Mon-Fri, Nov. 21-25 Fall recess
Mon-Fri, Dec. 5-9 No-examination week
Mon-Fri, Dec. 5-16 College of Law finals examinations
Saturday, Dec. 10 Commencement
Mon-Fri, Dec. 12-16 Final examinations
Saturday, Dec. 17 Final examinations for online classes which have in-person finals
Close of Fall semester
Tuesday, Dec. 20 Final Grades due by 12:00pm

Intersession 2016-2017
Note: Scheduled breaks for the observance of holidays vary by class.
Saturday, Dec. 17 Classes begin
Tuesday, Jan. 10 Close of Intersession
Friday, Jan. 13 Final Grades due by 12:00pm

Spring Semester 2017
Thursday, Jan 5 WWAMI classes begin
Monday, Jan. 9 Law classes begin
Cooperatively offered courses at Washington State University begin
Wednesday, Jan. 11 Classes begin
Monday, Jan. 16 Martin Luther King/Human Rights Day – Classes DO NOT meet
Thursday, Jan. 19 Last day to add course or change course section on-line
Wednesday Jan. 25 Last day to drop a course without having a grade of ‘W’ recorded
Last day to add a course with instructor permission
Monday, Feb. 20 Presidents' Day – classes DO NOT meet
Mon-Fri, March 13-17 Spring recess
Monday, March 20 Beginning of Late 8 week classes
Friday, March 31 Last day to withdraw from a course or from the university
Mon-Fri, May 1-5 No-examination week
Mon-Fri, May 1-12 College of Law final examinations
Mon-Fri, May 8-12 Final examinations
Friday, May 12 Close of Spring semester
Saturday, May 13 Commencement
Tuesday, May 16 Final Grades due by 12:00pm